Domain Name, Trademark Dispute Decisions, Issued by National Arbitration Forum
If you're new to Cheap Hosting Directory, you may want to subscribe to our RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!
Minneapolis, Minnesota - (Cheap Web Hosting Directory) - March 7, 2007 - Three separate domain name disputes, filed by Magic Johnson, MGM Studios and New Pig Corporation, were recently heard by The National Arbitration Forum, after which decisions were released.
Curtis Brown, Vice President of the National Arbitration Forum remarked, “There is a continued demand for a quick, neutral and inexpensive way to resolve Internet trademark disputes. The National Arbitration Forum usually resolves these complicated disputes in less than two months.”
All three decisions were made in accordance with the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) by independent and neutral arbitrators on the National Arbitration Forum’s panel.
MagicJohnsonTravelGroup.com
June Bug Enterprises, on behalf of basketball legend Magic Johnson and his latest venture Magic Johnson Travel Group, submitted a complaint electronically on November 6, 2006. The National Arbitration Forum found that the domain name, MagicJohnsonTravelGroup.com resolved to and was being used by myspecialprice.com to display links to Magic Johnson and LA Lakers apparel and travel agency services.
The arbitrator found that the domain name was confusingly similar to the “Magic Johnson” and “Magic Johnson Travel Group” trademarks and that the Respondent had no legitimate interest in the domain name. Furthermore, the Respondent registered the domain name on May 22, 2006, only a few days after the public announcement of the Magic Johnson Travel Group. This registration constitutes opportunistic bad faith. Thus, the arbitrator established all three elements required under the ICANN Policy. On December 27, 2006, the Complainant successfully defended its trademark in domain name arbitration; the domain name was transferred to June Bug Enterprises.
WarGames.com
On December 13, 2006, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, producer of the 1983 hit movie “WarGames,” filed a complaint electronically with the National Arbitration Forum asserting legal rights to the domain name WarGames.com. The Respondent, WarGames.com owner, is R.L. Cadenhead. Complainant requested the dispute be decided by a three-member panel.
The Panel concluded that the domain name is identical to the MGM Studios registered service trademark “WarGames.” The Panel found that Mr. Cadenhead registered and used the domain name for pay-per-click advertising for the first eight years of ownership. In 2006 he began using it as an online store selling military simulation war games. Because of this bona fide offering of goods, the Respondent proved his rights and legitimate interest in WarGames.com. MGM Studios failed to prove all three elements required of the ICANN Policy and because of this, the request for WarGames.com to be transferred was denied on January 31, 2007.
Pig.com
On November 16, 2006, the New Pig Corporation filed a complaint electronically with the National Arbitration Forum against Adam Dicker, the registered owner of Pig.com. New Pig Corporation requested the dispute be decided by a three-member panel.
The Panel found that the Pig.com domain name was identical to the New Pig Corporation’s trademark of “pig” and that Respondent Adam Dicker used the domain name to display pay-per-click links related to the generic term “pig.” However, the panel found that the domain name was not registered to take advantage of New Pig Corporation’s generic mark. The Respondent registered Pig.com in good faith based on the dictionary meaning of the term “pig.” Although the New Pig Corporation uses “Pig” as a trademark, it failed to meet all three elements required under the ICANN policy to transfer a domain name. The National Arbitration Forum denied the transfer of Pig.com to New Pig Corporation on January 29, 2007.
The National Arbitration Forum (FORUM) is one of the world’s leading providers of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) services, including arbitration and mediation. Committed to the integrity of America’s legal process, the National Arbitration Forum administers efficient, cost-effective dispute resolution programs and services for all parties. It maintains a distinguished panel of over 1,500 attorneys and retired judges who follow and apply the substantive law when rendering legal decisions. Mediators and arbitrators on the panel are located across the U.S. and in 35 countries around the world. Established in 1986, the National Arbitration Forum is headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota with offices in New Jersey and Southern California.
For more information about the National Arbitration Forum, please visit: www.adrforum.com.
To learn more about filing domain disputes with the National Arbitration Forum, please visit: www.domain-disputes.com/national-arbitration-forum.htm.
Related Posts
- Domain Arbitration Forum, Issues Disney, Jimmy Buffett, Angels Baseball Decision...
- Domain Arbitration Forum, Issues Hershey’s Kisses, Univision, Webkinz Resolution...
- Domain Name Dispute Filings Increase 21%, in 2006...
- Domain Name Arbitration Rules in Favor of George Foreman...
- Domain Name Arbitration Rules in Favor of Emmitt Smith...
Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.













